KnightsOfColumbus                        Bishop Hafey Council 4507
                       High Point, North Carolina
USFlag 4thDegreeSymbol
Another degree open to members of the Knights of Columbus is that of the Fourth (or Patriotic) Degree. On February 22, 1900, the first Fourth Degree exemplification, or degree ceremony, was held in New York City. The Fourth Degree imparts a lesson on the virtue of patriotism. The primary purpose of this degree is to foster the spirit of patriotism in members and the community at large, and encourage active Catholic citizenship. Today there are some 300,000 Fourth Degree Knights, out of the total 1.6 million member Knights of Columbus.

Local units, called assemblies, draw their members from Knights of Columbus councils. The qualifications for membership in the Fourth Degree are: membership in the Knights for at least one year and being a Third Degree Knight. Once you have been bestowed the honor of Knighthood, you will continue your journey in learning the lesson of patriotism. The primary purpose of your Fourth Degree membership is to foster the spirit of patriotism in members and the community at large and encourage active Catholic citizenship.

As a Fourth Degree Knight you have the opportunity to become part of your assembly's color corps. As a color corps member, you will be recognized widely by the distinctive attire of tuxedo, feathered hat (chapeau), cape, and sword. Color corps members regularly take part in civic events such as parades and wreath-laying ceremonies, and in ecclesial functions at Catholic churches. The various colored capes and chapeau feathers denote different officer positions within the Fourth Degree.

Faithful Friar: SK Fr. James Turner, OSFS
Faithful Navigator: SK Chuck Close
Faithful Captain: SK Paul Klosterman
Faithful Pilot: SK Matt Hinshaw
Faithful Comptroller: SK Joe Monahan
Faithful Scribe: SK Mark Nienhuis
Faithful Purser: SK Joe DiPaola
Faithful Inner Sentinel: SK Jose Pacheco
Faithful Outer Sentinel: SK Russell Corley
Faithful Admiral: SK Jim Neely
One Year Trustee: SK Lloyd Edmonds
Two Year Trustee: SK FBoyce Williams
Three Year Trustee: SK Tim Knorr



Content Copyright ©2021. All Rights Reserved.